In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate whether people have an inclination to consume less domestic food than they used to. I believe that there are two main problems associated with why imported foodstuffs are preferred, and also two measurements we can take to boost local food consumption. Without a shadow of a doubt, the largest problem stemming from this is due to quality competition. In many developing countries, local foods whose quality is becoming more unfit or even harmful for consumers’ health would have to share their market with better products from overseas. For example, domestic fruits with excessive preservative content can be taken. Hence, customers who tend to become wiser are making more informed decisions and are willing to pay more for healthy goods from internationally prestigious brands. Another major problem is that the massive importation of foods is giving local people a wide range of selections and shopping experiences than that in the conventional market. Instead of eating seasonally, imported foodstuffs of all kinds satisfy consumers’ tastes at any time they wish. Turning to possible solutions, probably the most effective measure is to enhance domestic products. Production processes should be under a closer supervision by governments in order to supply people with the best quality of goods. Secondly, it is necessary to support biological technology development. The abundance and variety of locally grown foods would provide citizens with more choices; therefore, they would buy less imported foods to save more money. In conclusion, the problems caused are not only the quality of local foods but also the active market of imported foodstuffs, and the solutions should involve government’s law and planting technology.