In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There has been a growing trend in some nations to encourage high school graduates to explore the real world either by getting engaged in some kind of employment or travelling for a year. This has been fuelled by the increasing acknowledgement of soft skills gained through these experiences. This essay will discuss this situation before offering my personal point of view. On the one hand, there are some crowd who advocate taking a gap year. One argument in favour of this is that it can have a beneficial impact on young people’s personal development. This means that they are likely to become more mature when they are obliged to fulfil certain responsibilities at work and that they will also become more open-minded as they will learn to appreciate cultural diversity through travelling to foreign countries, where they will be exposed to different cultural and social norms. In addition, the young community can find their passion by working in a variety of fields and industries. This will enable them to make a good choice when it comes to choosing what subject they should specialize in at university. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of taking a break from studies that should not be overlooked, one of which is the possibility of losing interest in higher education as they might be tempted by the income they are earning from their jobs. If so, this can have a profound negative impact on their future prospects because for high school graduates, job options are limited and the kinds of jobs available to them are generally labour-intensive and basic. Moreover, being immature and naive, the young community might be influenced by bad people whom they come across while working or travelling so there is a chance that they might end up becoming drug addicts or law-breakers. Furthermore, they will be left behind by their peers who will have already graduated when they will still be university students, making them feel inferior and demotivated. Therefore, it is a sensible idea to pursue tertiary education right after finishing high school. In conclusion, although there are some dangers such as the possibility of affecting their future career, there are also positive effects since they can develop desirable qualities and find out their interests and talents by taking a gap year.