With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, the use of digital books is on the rise in this modern era. Hence, there has been a steady decline in the purchase of hardcover books. This new interest has its own pros and cons and this essay will cover how ebooks support the green movement and in contrast, why some find it disgusting. Firstly, carrying numerous books in one device is convenient for everyone without worrying about looking for extra space in a bag. This becomes handy bookworms can read any novel such as while traveling, in a park or subway. Moreover, these are cheap in cost. Additionally, ebooks prevent the use of paper which comes at the cost of environmental destruction by cutting down trees. For example, in companies, many employees use PPT in digital form instead of printing them out. Thus, there are numerous reasons to buy online subscriptions of books. On the other hand, there are people who are against purchasing online magazines, because they are conscious of eye conditions that get affected due to long screen hours. For instance, I work in the IT industry, and the majority of time spent on the laptop screen makes my eyes irritated, so I prefer to read hardcover magazines instead of other screen time pdfs. Therefore, it's necessary to choose the right medium of the platform to study. In conclusion, one can be overwhelmed with this new trend, but it depends on the circumstances of the individuals to select what platform they should prefer to read. Although, many of them prefer both kinds of books to create a balance in their life.