Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, more and more scientific research is being carried out every day by both; governments and private party. In my opinion, governments should carry out and have total control over those research because private companies' intentions are normally to make profits and to gain power and domination over the population. Firstly, when a private company undertakes research is because it wants to make a profit. For instance, it is widely known that many private pharmaceutical companies do research about new drugs in order to sell them to the population. For that reason, I believe it should be a trusted body, such as governments, to do research and control it when a new drug is created and sold to the people. Secondly, powerful private companies carry out scientific research to have domination over the population. They would like to know how a certain community reacts to certain findings, thus how to have better control over this particular community. For example, in the USA, in 1995, there was exploration carried out by a group of scientists, which monitored people's behaviour. This kind of inquiry should be totally approved by law because they have been chosen by people. In conclusion, I believe that scientific investigation should be done by the state, and controlled by them because they are more trustable for the community compared to the private associations, whose intentions are for-profit and powerful.