Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of dangers. Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Smoking is injurious to health. People of all socio-economic backgrounds smoke regardless of the consequences. However, I disagree with the statement that smokers should charge more for medical facilities. Despite knowing the outcomes, some people still put their life at risk. This can cause not only harm to themselves but families are also impacted due to side-effects. For instance, cancer is one of the detrimental diseases caused by cigarettes. In a survey it is found that to lower the stress level more than 60% of women and men smoke in the world. The data is alarming as it is not good for the person's health. Government should increase taxes on cigarettes so that fewer people will buy from the stores. In spite of putting knowledge of danger on packets, the public doesn't stop smoking. Thus, it is not a effective plan to give people choices and smoke freely. As the poor people are illiterate and they buy their stuff from the store without reading it. It gives a short time of pleasure and people don't realize the effect which will cause in later life. Moreover, rich people can pay their bills for the treatments but poor people are not so lucky enough to get the medications and primary treatment for the disease. To conclude, the government should increase the price of all branded and non branded cigarettes packets. Hence public will restrict themselves to buying and knowing the importance of health. Furthermore, equal treatment should be given to smokers and non-smokers without paying more.