Nowadays there is a wide range of TV programs. But instead of watching educational programs, news or documentary films, more and more people prefer to watch TV shows, soap operas or serials. And this negatively affects knowledge acquisition skills. What are the primary causes of this tendency? How is it possible to make educational TV programs more popular?

Today, a huge variety of programmes are broadcasted on television. Many people prefer to watch TV shows and dramas instead of educating themselves by news and documentary movies. This has a negative impact on the learning abilities of people.The imperative causes of this trend are the influence of peers and personal interests. However, people can be motivated to education by teaching them the importance of learning from TV and modifying television serials. To begin with, there are two significant reasons that cause people to watch TV shows and serials, namely the impact of the company of others and the interest of people in dramas. Firstly, many people discuss the quality and stories of TV dramas when they socialize at parties or get-togethers. This encourages them to watch different seasons. Secondly, people often develop a interest in watching dramas because they see that TV serials are based on their routine life topics. This entices them to entertain themselves with TV serials. Conversely, educating people and improving the quality of the content telecasted on television can make educational programs more famous. The government organized educational campaigns can change the intellectual approach of the public and it can motivate them to watch knowledgeable and informative programmes. Another important step is the improvement in the quality of TV serial’s content. When there are proper informative lessons given by dramas, it can educate people in the community. In conclusion, the majority is inclined towards TV shows, soap operas and serials rather than being educated by news and documentaries. While this is happening due to the company of friends and acquaintances, and individual preferences, the minds of people can be stimulated to improve their knowledge by public education and improving the content of drama series.