Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Tourism is a vast industry holding a major share in the world's economy. Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult. Some examples of destinations with adverse environments are the Sahara desert or Antarctica. Like two sides of a coin, visiting such places have both advantages and disadvantages which are discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. First and foremost, with the growing pace of the tourism industry, there is rarely any place left for travellers to explore. This awakens the interest to experience the less explored spots of the world. Moreover, such places with challenging atmospheres give a remarkable adventure to the wanderers. Additionally, it allows the blending of different cultures and traditions. Also, with an increase in tourism in these parts of the world brings the opportunity of employment that results in an increase in the overall world's GDP. On the other hand, despite these benefits, the disadvantages that follow cannot be ignored. To visit some extreme places require high levels of fitness. For instance to travel in the immense cold weather of Antarctica, one must have good oxygen levels in the body and no heart-related issues. Surveys show that the tourist death rate is high in such places. Furthermore, crowding more and more people can result in pollution and can cause depletion in the serenity of these natural wonders. The same can result in disturbance of wildlife that natural habitats there. To conclude, travelling to uncommon destinations like a desert or poles of the world can give an unforgettable experience and benefit society in certain ways. But it also has its own disadvantages that hold equal weightage. While travelling, one must keep both sides of the card in mind and make their decision accordingly.