solar energy is becoming more and more popular source of energy in many countries. why is this? what are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

When I started studying environmental engineering, I discovered an interest in the balance that can be found between industry and the environment. As my undergraduate studies progressed, I increased my interest in air quality and the impact it has on the life and health of people. Therefore I chose to do my thesis on the study of pollutants that are harmful to human health such as particulate matter and its behaviour during the mandatory quarantine in the city of Bogota due to the contingency caused by covid 19. Similarly, while doing my thesis and taking other courses, I gained knowledge on climate change issues, which allowed me to understand in-depth the relationship between this phenomenon, air quality and, for example, the high consumption of non-sustainable energies worldwide. Therefore, when researching and analyzing the measures that can be applied to contribute in part to climate change, I observed that the path of sustainability and greater implementation of renewable energies would have a positive effect with respect to the emissions that we currently generate. Furthermore, during college I did an academic internship at Telefonica Colombia or commercially Movistar in the department of Sustainability Management, where I had a positive performance and acquired experience and knowledge about corporate sustainability focused on the energy and telecommunications sector. Following this work experience, in 2021 I joined the company CI Milpa SA, which is a family company and where I currently participate in areas of presidency, environmental management and energy projects. Among my work objectives is the creation of the energy and environmental departments in the company, where I can perform from my knowledge in environmental engineering based on the management and public policies that govern us nationally and internationally. Likewise, from the energy theme, one of the goals is the development and implementation of sustainable energy projects, taking into consideration that Colombia currently has a high potential for the use of solar and wind energy, in addition to having about 70% of its energy matrix based on hydropower. Considering the above, I believe that the Georgia Institute of Technology and the program offered by the master's degree in sustainable energy and environmental management fits adequately with the learning topics of my interest. Because the curriculum is multidisciplinary and focuses on executing in the practice of industries and companies everything related to sustainability. Another point that would be enriching for my career is that the institute focuses on analysis and problem solving which I consider a valuable skill to apply in a country like Colombia whose political, social, economic and environmental context is very varied. For me it would be an honour to be able to study at one of the best universities that have expertise in the field of sustainability and energy, as well as to be able to meet and learn from faculty members who are leaders in environmental management. Finally, like many other professionals in the environmental field, I hope through these studies to be able to positively support a company and my country through correct environmental management and the application of clean energies.