It is often said that the government spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are more problems that are more important? Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the global economic decline and current circumstances, many people find it unreasonable to invest in wildlife conservation while investment should be directed towards economic development. In my opinion, investments in protecting wildlife and local species are crucial where animal conservation will not support the environment but also can support local economies. Firstly, there are so many reasons to protect animals as most species play an important role in maintaining the health and integrity of their ecosystems. For instance, animals and plants are primary food resources for human consumption. Moreover, wild animals help tourism which generates income and employ millions of local talents. Additionally, plants recycle carbon dioxide from the air and in return, we get the oxygen needed to breathe. Without plants, many people will suffer from health issues that are connected to air pollution. Secondly, pests, insects and weeds enrich soil which is important for agriculture and without it millions of people will lose their source of food and income, creating an economic burden on many governments. For example, many people might migrate to cities to find alternative jobs and housing which will require further investments in infrastructure and urban planning. For many of the poor and underdeveloped countries, there is not enough funding for such projects and financing, not to mention the training required to upskill those individuals. In conclusion, one shouldn’t think about animal welfare and wildlife protection as a secondary investment where there are several benefits for countries to make such investments as the lives of millions depends on the health of our environment and local biodiversity. Hence, the government should continue to invest and sustain these ecosystems.