Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Many international sports events were held in different nations, such as the Olympics or the world cup in South Africa. Despite being well-known by sports lovers worldwide, other people think it exerts a detrimental effect on their daily life aspects and finances. In my opinion, the second statement partially convinced me for some reasons. On the one hand, holding an international event such as the world cup could benefit the hosted nation and the citizens. There would be more job opportunities for the unemployed because preparing a large-scale event required a lot of human resources. Furthermore, the event could stimulate the development of the economy and an excellent chance to be well-known globally. For example, South Africa organized the world cup in 2010, and there was a famous MV called “Waka Waka” on youtube to advertise this event. After that, South Africa's economy and tourism rose dramatically after a year. On the other hand, the drawback of an international event is similar to the hidden part of floated ice. It cannot be seen easily and hidden as detrimental to a nation’s budget. For instance, the Olympics held by an anonymous government cost a lot to be well-prepared, from the workforce to financial condition. Hence, that country is likely to be in debt that cannot be loaned within years but decades because money is the critical point to hold this enormous scale sports event. Furthermore, the locals are forced to relocate because the sports festival needs space to build a stadium containing thousands of tourists and spectators. In conclusion, hosting an international sport could stimulate a country’s economy and tourism. However, that nation could bear a substantial financial burden that will take time to be paid.