Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

It is believed that a specific kind of crime should be dealt with a particular sentence. However, some people argue that the law has to be flexible under many cases and the original reasons for committing a crime when reconsidering to accuse a guilty individual. In my opinion, both statements greatly convinced me for some reasons. First of all, the law works quite strictly and fairly because the law system has been developing for many centuries, and it keeps fixing the rule when acknowledging a hole in the system. Most of the time, crime are treated fairly for what they did under the court, from thieve, robbers to murder, and nation betrayers are sentenced to months, years, decades, or death. For example, the new law of Vietnam has just been enforced to ban driving after drinking alcohol because drunk drivers mainly cause car accidents. According to that, Drivers’ licenses will be revoked for 10 to 12 months and fined for a fixed amount of money which is enough for him not to drink when he is in traffic. However, when it comes to Vietnam ’s Law, there are some differences from other Western nations. In Vietnam, the man who holds all power under the court is the tribunal president, which decides the crime ’s fate. This is the most significant hold in Vietnam law because if the holder is a dedicated and fair person, he can assess the circumstances correctly. However, if he is a corrupted judge, the consequences would be unfair. In contrast, in western nations, the power belongs to 12 juries who are 12 different people in the society from the lowest class to the higher ones. The court would be much fairer because 12 juries cannot be chosen in advance so that they can judge a situation most accurately. For instance, there were many precedents in Vietnam law that pushed two adolescents to jail for three years because of bread stealing, and a man was kicked into prison because he stole a duck from his neighbour. Hence, the critical point is that the power must be given to an appropriate holder. In conclusion, the law has many fixed sentences for a specific crime. However, it has shown many faulty evaluations under many contexts, and the solution is to put the power to a fair judge.