Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for charity, improving the neighborhood, or teaching sports to the younger). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that unpaid community service should be deemed necessary as a part of high school programs, such as charity work, improving the local area, or coaching sports for younger kids. I agree with this viewpoint because it's a great opportunity for students to get actual experience in social activity, and it will improve their empathy. Most high school students often take the initiative to seek experience outside of studying, yet they don't get to utilize it as much as they would like. It's likely because their schedules are already packed not just with studying but also extracuriccular extra-curricular activities, therefore school as an institution should step up and facilitate its students by including volunteer work as a part of the learning program. Through volunteering, students can get hands-on experience to improve the environment and living conditions of society, which will help them become more socially sound. For example, volunteering at an orphanage will open a student's eyes to empathize with children their age who are less fortunate than them. Furthermore, working for the community puts human relationships first and encourages personal interaction. This aspect of community work will benefit students emotionally more than one would think. By spending time in service to others, volunteers will experience a sense of meaning and appreciation. For instance, a study in 2021 found that volunteering can increase empathy and boost mental health. To conclude, I completely agree with the idea of mandatory unpaid community service programs for high school students since this will serve as an important opportunity for them to gain experience and develop their empathy.