Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is an irrefutable fact that governments set rules in order to control society and protect its citizens. While some people believe that nation cannot properly function if the citizens were able to do anything they want, others argue that societies do not need rules. Personally, I completely support the former view. My opinion with relevant examples is highlighted in the following paragraphs. To commence with the benefits of rules and regulations, first and foremost, it helps people to understand which behavior is acceptable and which is not. For instance, speeding on the roads can result in adverse consequences, however, with established speed limits, it becomes much safer to drive. Additionally, restrictions can stop people from committing criminal offences. A community without a regulated justice system with punishments would be a very dangerous place to live full of criminals. Subsequently, the law protects vulnerable individuals. On the other hand, these regulations should not interfere in the personal choices of the individual as it is against the individual autonomy of the general public. For example, a state of unrest in the civilization is being created after the government of India proposed to make it illegal to sell or consume alcohol in many states. By doing this the government is imposing their personal preferences over individual choices. To conclude, laws are of utmost importance in any country. Societies with no law would be disarrayed and chaotic with increased crime rates and inhumane living conditions for citizens but at the same time, it is essential to make sure these laws does not come in the way of individual autonomy.