These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant period of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of living and studying abroad

Nowadays, an increasing number of individuals are living and studying abroad for a long time. This trend does bring about some drawbacks; nevertheless, this essay would argue that these are outstripped by the advantages. There are definitely two disadvantages of going overseas. Firstly, living costs in some countries are extremely expensive. Therefore, many overseas students have to do part-time jobs to pay for their bills, and this can affect their studies. Secondly, overseas students might encounter language barriers and culture shock. Effective communication is essential for their success as study abroad students. If they do not understand the language of the country that they live in, it will be hard to make new friends as well as to absorb much knowledge from the lecturers. The culture of each country is also different, so foreigners who have been exposed to these traditions and cultures for the first time can be overwhelmed. As a result, these can lead to feelings of frustration, anxiety, depression, loneliness, and homesickness. Despite the numerous downsides, the benefits still outweigh them. There are also two main advantages of living and studying abroad. First of all, it gives those the opportunity to live independently. For example, they must learn how to cook, clean, pay bills, take care of themselves and deal with all problems without the assistance of their parents. Thus, living on their own while studying abroad makes them more confident, more flexible as well as not relying on others. Besides, foreign students have more chances in their career path. In other words, recruiters tend to favour candidates graduating from international universities over those who do not have any international qualifications. As a result, international students are less likely to be unemployed. In conclusion, while going overseas is detrimental to a certain extent, its positives far outweigh any of its supposed negatives.