In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

Most people would agree that preserving connection with the past is an admirable object while the world has been evolving rapidly. Although in numerous countries, people consider traditional dress as a way to be connected with their past, I feel that these dresses are no means the most important as this essay will depict. Firstly, traditional dresses play a vital role in social events, such as religious rituals and military parades, whenever these events have been transmitting the social memes, like public duty and self-sacrifice. Additionally, traditional costumes also remind us of the origin of our roots and mythologies. For example, the swiss national dress evokes their medieval independence. Consequently, they are known for their symbolic dress worldwide. However, it must be said that these clothes are only accessories in present situations and do not appear to constitute the central message while these social events are conveying the messages on their own that helps to maintain the fabrication of society. Moreover, painting, music, and artefacts are acknowledged as a repository of nations' collective memory because these forms of art carry a more powerful symbolic message in which culture is conserved and handed down between the generations. For instance, the Jamdani saree, which is handcrafted, has passed from generation to generation as a symbol of Bangladeshi culture. Furthermore, every nation has birth stories, development stories, rich heritage of legends. These stories consist of crucial concepts which far more effective than traditional dresses. In conclusion, it is undeniable that traditional costumes are significant for ones' nation. Nevertheless, arts and formal occasions embody cultural norms that are more efficacious than those accessories that can help citizens connect with their past.