Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the modern world, the rising rate of consumerism is caused by the power of advertisement. In other words, the high rate of demand and sale is not related to the real needs of society but stems from peripheral advertising. It is logical to accept the power of advertisement could have a significant influence on what clients buy. Firstly, it seems advertising on televisions or streets consequently encourages youth or people to buy goods that are not essential for them; as a result, it increases consumerism. After a while, societies tend to shop in a frantic pace without concerning their basic needs. For example, fashion designers have been advertising their new collections with famous people such as models, singers, and actors, which persuade their followers and fans to buy unnecessary clothes and just under the influence of trends. Furthermore, a comparison between the cutting edge era and the last decades shows that people did their shopping without concerning any advertising in different media such as tv, radio, or digital applications in the past. People bought goods based on their needs such as clothes, they go shopping once a year or as much as their need however nowadays they are under the control of giant media producer and they choose their shopping only because of the media’s impact. However, these days online shops encourage youth to buy quickly and fast. Citizens with high incomes and wages tend to buy everything without needs. But actually, there is no means to be materialistic and follow consumerism. To conclude, the power of advertising sales unnecessary goods in society is also standard, but it is not possible to control the issue because it is an individual decision for people. So, unfortunately, everybody can just hold their own.