Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

International sports events always draw attention from the public. It is believed that organizing an international sports event will bring many benefits to the host country. However, there are also some arguments that oppose this idea. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and explain why a country should register to become a host. On the one hand, organizing a sports event brings many benefits to the host country. First and foremost, the health of the young generation is promoted as youngsters are inspired by their favourite athletics and start taking up sports. For example, a high school student with a sedentary lifestyle is encouraged to play badminton as his favourite idol is going to join the competition held in his country. Moreover, holding an international sports event creates many opportunities to develop the national economy. Many foreign tourists will be attracted and visit the host country so its tourism industry will have a chance to earn more money by offering services. In turn, taxes collected from this sector will be spent on improving infrastructures and other vital projects. On the other hand, many people argue that hosting an international sports event has some disadvantages. Firstly, only a few sectors make money such as hotels, restaurants and sports merchandising whereas most local people do not benefit. The reason for that is tourists will pay for accommodations and food they enjoy. Locals like farmers gain nothing from foreign visitors. Furthermore, public money used for constructing buildings and stadiums to serve the event is considered a waste. To some advocates, it should be allocated to improve the facilities in hospitals, schools and provide residents with more welfare. In conclusion, although some people find hosting an international sports event ineffective, I am convinced that its advantages outweigh the drawbacks as it somehow contributes greatly to the economy.