In recent years, online shopping has become increasingly popular. Some people think such a shopping method is beneficial, while others believe it creates more problems than it solves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The usage of the internet has made it possible for humans to do almost all sorts of activities by using online platforms and therefore the virtual medium of buying things is gaining ground with time. Some opine that a lot of benefits are rendered due to this trend while some others believe that more problems than the ones resolved are caused due to it. Both sides will be discussed with appropriate reasoning in the upcoming paragraphs. First, people these days lead a hectic lifestyle. They do not have much time to go to the market and buy essentials on regular basis; hence, for such people, the availability of applications and websites to shop things from the comfort of their homes acts as a boon. As per the survey conducted by a government organisation to assess the shopping habits of citizens, the percentage of habitants who preferred to visit the local shops at least once in a week reduced by 60% in the last decade because of the increasing popularity of shopping applications and sites such as Amazon, Flipcart, and Shopper's com. And most of them had reasoned this behaviour of theirs by saying that they have a busy life and cannot afford to spare much time for going to the shops to buy anything. Therefore, the online method of purchase is advantageous a great deal for those who have a scarcity of time. However, buying things online is not without flaws as this trend is in a way suppressing the growth of small industries and local retailers who are not connected with the online platforms that sell and deliver products to the customers' doorsteps. So, such businesses do not get the desired market to sell their products and in turn earn profit. Another problem that is created due to this is that at times goods delivered are not of great quality and services given afterwards are not that efficient too. Therefore, a lot of customers' time is wasted in the entire process of buying and returning the products bought when found to be of low quality. In conclusion, though purchasing things using digital platforms is convenient and time -saving, it causes shutting down of small businesses and also sometimes customers are delivered commodities of poor quality.