Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t. What is your opinion on that?

Sportspersons are generally considered important public figures as they have the ability to influence a wider population. While many advocate that they can be considered role models for youth, others opine that they should not be given such importance. I firmly agree with the former view. On one hand, a popular belief is that the young generation looks up to athletes and dreams to become one. Firstly, professional athletes get the fame that most teenagers desire. Secondly, they are paid enormous money because of their performance and that brings in extra motivation to young people. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo, one of the most followed athletes of all time, has become a role model for thousands of children who want to play professional football. Finally, these sportsperson has to maintain strong physical and mental fitness and watching them youngsters also pursue that lifestyle which leads to sound body and mind. To quote an example, Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli has influenced thousands to follow his fitness regimen. On other hand, some people believe that young people can also easily be misguided by these stars. To put it in other words, many athletes have certain bad habits like spending huge money, smoking and consumption of drugs and these can badly affect their followers. For example, if a famous cricketer promotes a particular brand, youngster tends to spend huge money to buy that product. Additionally, blind followers tend to waste their crucial time of study to watch a match. To conclude, although certain professional athletes can influence young minds badly, wast majority of them inculcates a desire and motivation to do something in life. I firmly believe that if athletes stay away from bad habits they can positively transform today's youth.