Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Authorities across the globe have priorities for economic growth for their nation. Though the United Nations have set some sustainable development goals, it is tough to decide which factor is most important. While many governments believe that economic development should be their prime focus, others argue other factors are equally necessary. I tend to agree with the latter view. To begin with, it is undeniable that developed nations possess the strongest economic status. Of course, a number of improvements can be done when the nation is financially strong. From ending poverty and hunger to building a strong military for its defence, all need strong budget support. For example, China is highly industrialized and economically dominant in the region, because of this they can provide quality education, healthcare and better job opportunities despite overpopulation problems. On the other hand, many other signs of progress deserve the same attention as the economy. When measuring the developmental index of the nation, the quality of life of its citizen also counts. Democratic transparency, freedom of expression, freedom of media and journalism are also of utmost importance in the advancement of the nation. For example North Korea, the country has spent huge on defence and nuclear power but the basic needs of the population are ignored. Additionally, environmental commitment to clean and renewable energy for a better future should also be counted as a major factor in measures of advancement for the nation. To conclude, it is true that a top-notch economy can bring good fortune for the nation but other factors are equally important. I firmly believe that country's progress is not solely dependent on the economy, the essence of it depend on the livelihood of its citizens thus other factors should be given equal importance.