Some countries spend a lot of money on making it easier to use bicycles in cities, why? Is this the best way to solve traffic problems?

In the past few years, many cities have witnessed a substantial increase in the number of bicycles on the roads. To make the use of bicycles easier, the governments are also making efforts to construct bike lanes and build corresponding infrastructures. However, the traffic problems cannot be solved without measures taken in other means of transportation. There are multiple reasons for the government’s allocating funds for making bicycle travels easier. On the one hand, there have been greater demands in the use of bicycles among city dwellers. For some, taking on a bike ride is an alternative that keeps them away from the annoying traffic congestion. For other, it becomes more convenient to get to wherever they want with the help of bikes. Even if some places cannot be reached by merely the buses or subways, residents no longer need to walk for a long distance to get to the destinations. It saves them time and energy as long as bicycles are available. The shift to a sustainable lifestyle, on the other hand, also renders it possible that citizens prioritize an environmental-friendly way of travel. Thus, providing easier access to the use of bicycles serves as an encouragement for them to embrace the low-carbon commuting pattern, making bike-riding more attractive than driving private vehicles that are generated by burning gasoline. However, the wide use of bicycles alone won’t be enough for solving the traffic problems. For one thing, the use of bikes is highly restricted to weather conditions and the riders’ physical health. Once a storm bursts or rain falls, it becomes impossible for the citizens to go out by bikes. For another, long-distance travel still requires speediness and easiness, which are apparently features that a bicycle ride does not have. In that case, it is also urgent and necessary to develop public transport and subway lines, so that the problems regarding traffic system can be addressed. In conclusion, an easier access to bicycles certainly contributes to the development of a city, but construction in other means of transportation is also crucial for providing better service for the public.