Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As it is becoming more commonly believed that musical education, especially playing the instruments is necessary for today’s young. In my point of view, I am strongly convinced that teaching children a musical instrument should be on their studying list. First and foremost, one of the multifarious advantages of learning musical instruments from an early age is the development of learning abilities and cognitive capacity. Equipping children with prowess in musical instruments at a young age requires a combination of different abilities simultaneously. For instance, while playing the piano, the child needs to coordinate their hand to play, their eyes to look at the song, and their movement according to the rhythms and melodies. In addition, practicing the early knowledge of the musical instruments can push them towards becoming multitasks, thereby enhancing their memory potentials and intellectual improvements. This process also strengthens and stimulates certain parts of a person’s brain associated with creativity. Consequently, they will be more likely to have better abstract thinking skills, which helps them excel in other subjects later. Secondly, a child exposed to musical instruments from young age enjoys more social perks than others. Children being well acquainted with playing musical instruments stand a better chance of enhancing their circle of friends. Since childhood, they have participated in many clubs, where they can make new friends and improve their communication and interaction skills. They exchange their ideas, expressing their views about songs, singers as well as the meaning of lyrics together, which is a great tool to raise their self-esteem. In addition, knowing how to play a musical instrument gives children a unique and healthy form of self–expression instead of spending time playing violent video games. In conclusion, training up-and-coming children to play musical instruments from an early stage has tremendous benefits. Besides honing their cognitive abilities and social skills, it will have lasting positive impacts in the future.