With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in number of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, the debate on whether society will be able to deal with the rise of elderly people today has been heated. As far as I am concerned, taking care of the elderly may not be a burden for society because of the development in technology. Therefore, the government should focus more on technological enhancement in order to deal with the ageing issue. To begin with, the development in technology allows hospitals to provide services more efficiently. As doctors can have easier access to patients’ medical history, the time spent asking questions can be saved. For example, doctors will know what medicines the elderly use to take before with the help of the latest system. Therefore, doctors may be able to cope with more patients within the same time. In order to prevent the ageing population become a burden in the medical system, the government should have more subsidize related technological development. As many nurses will be needed for certain therapy, developing alternative machines seems to be a feasible way to increase the labour supply. For example, the elderly may do some exercise with certain facilities instead of the nurses. In this way, health care centres will be more able to receive more elderly patients. In conclusion, since asking about old people’s medical history may be time-consuming for doctors, the development in the medical system can save time and allow more elderly to care. Government should also focus more on health-related facilities for the elderly in order to ensure the labour supply in the medical system.