Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In today's world, most people across the world have become aware of the recycling of waste, which is generated from their households. However, there are still some individuals, who are not educated enough, while segregating the waste material. It is believed, only law enforcement can deal with such practices. As the needs are increasing rapidly, modern society is generating a lot of trash, which is easy to recycle and reuse. Also, many non-profit organizations help in educating the masses on how to process the byproducts. For example, online shopping websites such as Amazon, Flipkart send a lot of cardboard as packaging material. Once unpacked, most of the cartons are discarded. Instead, customers should be encouraged to reuse them for other purposes such as gift wrapping, storing household items, etc. In my opinion, creating awareness can do wonders, when we need to teach people about the benefits of recycling items. Nevertheless, if there are not enough strong laws, the marketplaces and the customers are not going to care much about the discarded items. Also, the government has the duty to implement strong laws in order to make the end-users habituated with the reusing techniques. The laws must include policies such as incentivizing those who recycle the products, enforcing heavy fines to those who do not follow the orders. For an instance, companies should reward those buyers who return the packaging materials, which is of no use for the shopper. To summarize, the world needs both strong regulations as well as the awareness to educate the crowd. It will not only help the citizens and manufacturers to fall in line, and also help in saving a lot of resources that are used in producing the packages.