In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partners discuss and give your own opinion.

Arranged marriages are still practised in some nations nowadays, according to tradition, the bride and groom are chosen mostly by senior family members, typically the parents. In contrast, people in many other regions of the world enables to make their own decision to marry their lover due to freedom of choice. Personally, I disagree with arranged weddings owing to the high possibility of later marital failure. In South Asia, the arranged wedding has been practised for a long time and remains common in several countries such as India, Bangladesh and Pakistan these days. A great example of this is Pakistan, most Pakistanis believe that marriage is one of the most important family ceremonies and is not a personal responsibility but the entire clan. As a result, family leaders are always in charge of finding the best partner for their children in order to ensure that this bond will place the highest value on the family. Likewise, married couples also feel that it is their duty to make their clan proud. On the contrary, most westerners, hold opposing viewpoints. They believe that everyone should have the freedom to make their own decisions, including choosing their soulmate. Furthermore, nationality, religion, and even gender are unimportant factors as long as they feel comfortable. To illustrate, we can see a large number of half-white children living around the world. This proves that there are no restrictions on marrying someone you love. In my opinion, marrying an unfamiliar person carries a big risk, similar to gambling, because we know nothing about them. Settling down with someone means raising your own family so it is not just building a house to live in but also building a home to love. Therefore, I believe we should marry someone we love, not anyone. On top of that, parents should act as supporters instead of decision-makers since it is their children future so their life partner should not be chosen by others but by themselves. In conclusion, marriages planned by family seniors are available in several south Asian countries owing to an old tradition. However, it is rarely seen in western countries since freedom of choice is practised there. From my point of view, getting married to anyone matched by parents is not a great option because it may end up in divorce.