Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone would learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There has been a growing interest in learning foreign language, which is showed by the emergence of new learning platforms. Many people believe that the demand for learning foreign languages is due to travel or work purposes. However, others argue that working and traveling are not the only reasons for a person to learn a different language. Both arguments will be examined in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. As the globalisation opens up more opportunities for individuals to move between countries, it creates the needs for migrants who travel or work in different places to learn a foreign language. For example, an English person would need to learn Italian if he or she is going to travel or work in Italy. For traveling reason, the ability to speak Italian will make the trip more enjoyable and easier. In addition, fluency in Italian will help a person working in Italy navigate the obstacles they are facing at work better. As a result, it will advance his or her career. Nevertheless, the are individuals who learn a foreign language only because they love the sound of it. For instance, there is a community who called themselves as Francophiles. Francophiles are non-French native speakers who learn and speak French because they admire the French language and culture. However, this group of people is not French national or living in a French-speaking country. Hence, this presents an avenue in which learning foreign language is not only for work or travel purpose. To sum up, traveling and working appear to be the most reason for learning new languages. On the other hand, there are also group of individuals who like to learn a language because of personal interest.