In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, many children are taught that if they work hard, they can obtain the results that they want. This kind of encouragement can benefit the children to be confident with themselves but it can also make them feel insecure if they are not met with their expectations. On the one hand, kids and adolescents will gain self-confidence and self-belief when they are told anything is possible if they try hard enough. Thus, children perform their work with much dedication and motivation until they achieve what they want without giving up despite multiple difficulties along the way. Moreover, they obtain a strong mindset and skills that will be helpful for their employment or investment in the future. For instance, my little brother who is a bit slow in Math and failing his exams finally passed one after studying hard with encouragement and support from me and our parents. On the other hand, for the young ones who are working hard in a particular field that is not suitable for their talents, this kind of teaching can make them feel discouraged and disappointed in themselves. In other words, despite their commitment to their work, they cannot gain the desired outcome unless their innate skills are compatible with the performance that they are doing. Hence, the words of motivation and teaching from the elders become poisonous to their minds. For example, my friend who was not born with musical talents lost his self-esteem after not being able to meet the expectations even though he kept practising the piano as his mentors told him. To conclude, making young learners believe that hard work is the ultimate necessity to reach their goals brings about the advantage of forming a strong mentality of never quitting until the end; however, this method has the disadvantage of developing insecurity when they are doing tasks beyond their limits.