Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life.

To what extent do you agree with this view? A lot of people determine their career paths at an early age and keep to it. The proponent of this view believes that being able to decide a career trajectory early in life leads to a more satisfying working lives. Based on examples of my personal experiences, I disagree with the proposed argument. As numerous things could happen in a person's life, changing career is often inevitable and does not mean it will create a less statisfying work environment. Firstly, our knowledge and skills are evolving throughout our lives. Consequently, an aspiration that we had when we were younger might not be relevant with the current situation of our life. For instance, I once wanted to be a singer because I loved to sing. However, as I grow up I learn that my voice is not spectacular and I am better off to be a statistician. Secondly, our perceptions and values on things around us often shift as we learn more in life. As a result, a particular job that we dreamed of would not be suitable anymore. For example, many people who live a busy life decided to leave their jobs because they found out that they were not happy for doing their work anymore. They often look for different career that are more fulfilling for them. The new environment make them happier and improve their well-being. In conclusion, evidence shows that deciding a career path at a young age and keeping to it does not always lead to a better working life. Frequently, changing career is more desirable and provide a greater life satisfaction.