Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether graduating from university or enhancing the variety of skills in several aspects by experiencing some activities is more important for younger generations to capture better job opportunities. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I believe that both of them should be integrated to some extent. To begin with, getting some academic certifications, such as bachelor, master and PhD, is significantly effective in proving students' knowledge and expertise. For instance, in Japan, the majority of businesses pay higher salaries for employees who have a master’s degree than those who have only a bachelor’s degree. This is simply because it is believed that the greater degrees people possess, the more applicable their knowledge is. Therefore, if students have at least something to prove that they completed university education, they will be able to differentiate themselves from others who just graduated from high school. However, it is also true that without any knowledge regarding how they can leverage that expertise in daily work, the evaluation from their seniors will decline because the most important aspect in business areas is the effectiveness of their skills. Meanwhile, as some people argue, experiences are essential for younger people to obtain better jobs because experiencing several things in various aspects is the most effective approach to knowing how people can leverage their academic knowledge. For example, even if people know the ways of data analysis and abstract calculation, if they do not know how they can use them in real contexts, those skills will be meaningless because they cannot solve any problem in society. In contrast, what companies practice making a profit is resolving societal problems, including inconvenience and inefficiency. Thus, to make those educational learnings more effective and helpful in those contexts, people need to practice applying them to pragmatic cases by participating in volunteers and internships. By doing so, they can bridge between academic aspects and practical ones, and the evaluations from job interviewers will be greater, as a result. In other words, younger people should focus not just on academic backgrounds but also on how they can use their expertise in businesses. In conclusion, while obtaining educational certifications and having various experiences have many benefits respectively, by integrating both aspects and bridging them, the total advantage becomes greater. For this reason, I consider that people should not concentrate only on either option.