Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Transport is an essential part of urban life, and lengthy journeys are frustrating and expensive. There appear to be three main causes behind this widespread phenomenon and varieties of solutions as this essay will depict. The leading contributing factor behind this issue is the lack of investment and funding for infrastructure for high-capacity public transport systems. Moreover, an expanded road for private vehicles can be the main cause for this, which means that too many cars use the same existing road for commuting. Therefore traffic congestion is inevitable in these places. For example, we can see many megacities like Tokyo, London faces traffic jams due to an increased number of private vehicles. In addition, many conurbations lack finance for transport hubs, such as integrated road and railway facilities that can connect with private transport; thus, the bottleneck could be reduced. Further, another major cause seems to be overcrowding in cities, whereby ambitious young people come from the hinterland to urban areas because of better jobs. Consequently, they are putting extra strain on the amenities, housing and other services, which are exacerbating the existential situation, and therefore urban sprawl has occurred. Regarding potential solutions, probably the main remedy would be to encourage investment in better infrastructure. To exemplify this, In 1990, in Germany, the government introduced a policy through subsidies and public-private partnerships, and therefore they were successful that time. Another solution may be to impose tax incentives for working from home, which will reduce daily commuting numbers from the suburbs to the inner city for work. A final response would be the development of communal carpooling, inspiring to use of fewer private cars. In conclusion, it seems that outdated infrastructure and overpopulation are the leading cause of transport frustrations. However, possible solutions would involve better funding for modern city transport structure and motivate people not to move to cities for work, reducing the burden on the system.