As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

The essential component in people’s happiness is the sense of satisfaction in their work because adults spend most of their time working. One’s fulfilment can be influenced by wages and supportive coworkers. However, these days many workers are dissatisfied with their jobs because of an imbalance between the amount of paycheck and the responsibility. Salary is one of many factors that affect employees’ well-being because the wage is the top consideration when someone applies for job positions. This is because they want to get a reasonable amount of salary compared to the responsibilities. Workers who get paid under the average amount of salaries in their roles will feel dissatisfied because they are dedicating their effort to the company but they get less than what they deserve. Another factor is having supportive peers. Working in a collaborative environment enables employees to have better motivation to achieve their targets. When they face difficult challenges, their coworkers are willing to lend a hand. Thus every hurdle will be easier. For example, Tokopedia is well-known for its great working environment, and research has shown that its employee satisfaction index is above the average among tech companies. Some employers are unable to provide factors that contribute to well-being because they offer high-salary positions with excessive workloads. This is because some company may demand their employees to work overtime to finish their tasks. For instance, in Shopee Indonesia, accountants work until late at night to finish the financial report. Even when they already come home they should stand by if their supervisor calls them to check their reports. Some of them are still working past midnight to complete their tasks. This example depicts that they sacrifice their leisure time instead of getting a rest. Thus, in the long run, it will impact their happiness. In conclusion, the profound components of workers’ well-being are a competitive salary and a collaborative environment. However, high-paying jobs usually come with huge workloads that may lower their job satisfaction.