Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently,many workplaces have had an open-space design rather than the traditional smaller rooms for work.In my opinion,even though this development has some cons,the benefits are tremendous,especially in terms of social and work relations. This essay will discuss more on this topic. To begin with,Some people consider working in an open space a distraction. Employees might be distracted every now and then which might lead to low productivity at the end of the day. For instance, employees in a common room tend to engage in more verbal communication which could result in some minutes lost for work.Recent research has in fact shown that communication around the office, though beneficial in other ways, does lead to declines in total work output. An office trying to achieve optimal output thus should emphasize private working spaces. On the other hand, increased communication is a boon both socially and creatively. A standout example of this would be the offices designed by Apple founder Steve Jobs for both Pixar and Apple. He intentionally created offices that directed individuals to meet in common areas and that would facilitate interactions between different divisions in the company. The impact of this on morale is massive as individuals can make friends and enjoy each other’s company throughout the workday. Moreover, the true intention of this design was to facilitate creativity. By meeting others on a regular basis, employees are more likely to combine diverse perspectives and be more imaginative in their work. In conclusion, although there may be minor tradeoffs in terms of productivity, this is a progressive change as it allows employees to converse and be more creative. Such offices should become the rule, rather than the exception.