Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that the number of local shops has been closed for many years. While there are several reasons for it, in my opinion its drawbacks outweigh the benefits. I will explain my views below paragraphs. There are many causes of bankruptcy to businesses. First and foremost, the largest and international companies became more popular and the high street shops cannot shoulder the high tax cuts anymore. Moreover, local shops could not make enough profit and they give up the running business. Secondly, online shopping become more popular due to the Internet-based shopping is offering broad a range of products and individuals find it more convenient and even time saver. Finally, besides globalisation, the economic crisis is rising day by day worldwide and also every sector is affected by this such as many businesses cannot manage to budget anymore. I believe this is a negative development. Local businesses are a crucial sign of a country's economy. Furthermore, because of this issue, there would be fewer job opportunities and services. What is more? The unemployment rate may increase and people might face with a lower standard of living. In addition, they cannot pay their bills and taxes so a country may struggle with an economic crisis. For instance, by online shopping, customers have to pay by credit cards only, however, without closing the high street shops they would be able to pay by debit. In conclusion, many causes are affecting to business sectors and they have to close their doors at the end. I consider, if it remains so far, an economical crisis is inevitable for our society.