Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, an abundance of beneficial information can be accessed easily on the internet, among which the educational contents are no exception. A vast variety of different e-books, recordings and videos are available for children to take advantage of as educational sources. However, I argue that this could not be totally substituted for conventional schools because there are some shortages associated with it, as well as a lot of irreplaceable characteristics of physical classes. To commence with, the internet can be used as a rich source of educational files, graphical information, and additional homework for educational purposes. For example, pupils can find documents and photos from alternative sources to supplement their courses and exercise more. Furthermore, the internet eliminates the barrier of location and time by providing these contents for every child regardless of their residence and time zone and as a result, it improves the education of children who live in far-flung areas and developing countries. On the other hand, some merits are attributed to traditional schools’ lecture halls which can not be rivalled by the internet. For instance, by attending the classes, adolescents become exposed to an opportunity of communication and debate with classmates and teachers which empowers their soft skills. Furthermore, not all internet contents are credible and it needs a degree of expertise to sift information and choose the best to fit their needs. Thus, the need for professional teachers or tutors is still of the essence. To summarize, although the internet could bring about numerous useful resources for educating children, it can not be completely replaced by schools. It is better to use it as a supplement for studies under the supervision of teachers.