Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances for an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account while considering the punishment of the crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In Today's world, crime is increasing day by day; some people think that for each and every kind of crime there should be fixed punishment. In contrast, the opposition insists that before fixing the punishment, the situation in which that crime has been committed, and the reason for committing it, should always think about it. I strongly stand with later view, though we will discuss both views. Firstly, some crimes are very brutal and the government should not delay in giving punishments. For example, some committed crimes like rape, murder, terrorism etc. For these kinds of offences, the government should fix the punishment and the police should immediately file the charge sheet and should make sure that the culprit will not be out of bars in any circumstances. Moreover these types of crimes have a deep effect on an individuals mind for a lifetime. However, there are always some motivations behind these crimes. So before giving any punishment to any person, we should always take into consideration all the sides of that crime which has been committed. For example, some beggar children are doing a crime by stealing something from people but the reason behind that is some bigger culprits who force those children to do these kinds of acts. So people should always consider the second side of the coin as well because it will ruin an individual's life. To conclude, crime should not be spared but the reasons and motivations behind that offences should always be taken into consideration and the right criminal should be punished. Government should definitely fix punishment but not all types of crimes