Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Literacy plays a significant role in various aspects of life and the ever-rising rate of illiteracy has worried educational systems of many countries. There seem to be two main causes and some effects that will be discussed in the following. Perhaps the main cause is the overwhelming cost of education that people who lived in less-affluent countries, could not afford. In such countries, due to poverty and the increasing rate of inflation, families can only provide their basic needs including food, clothes, and housing. Their economic condition makes the education of their children a low priority. The ever-present danger of decreased motivation for finishing the education seems to be the second well-known cause of illiteracy. Some children, particularly those who live in the developed countries, start their school, however, they lose their motivation to acquire advanced knowledge and thus abandon study without obtaining an academic degree. This phenomenon could be due to the new advances in video games, social media, and internet-based applications, that have distracted children from homework. The effects of illiteracy can be sensed in all aspects of the individual life. An illiterate person cannot read, understand even simple signs, and find the correct directions that regularly happen in everyday life. Therefore, these people constantly experience a feeling of weakness that influence their communication. An obvious impact of illiteracy would be unemployment or having low-paying jobs. In today’s modernized world, people should have at least a bachelor degree to be hired in order to avoid difficulties. Otherwise, they tend to commit a crime like burgling that threaten the security of community. The final but the most important effect of illiteracy would be its irreparable damage on the economic and political conditions of a country. Because both terms need a highly-educated nation to preserve and progress the country in accordance with other developed countries. In conclusion, poverty and decreased motivation are the main causes of illiteracy that have negative impacts on the quality of life of an illiterate person, the number of skilled employees, the economy, and the security of a country.