The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The drawbacks of smoking are generally known by people, however there are still many people who live without changing this bad habit. The following will discuss the factors and how can we deal with this problem. To begin with, peer pressure may be the main reason why so many people continue smoking. As smoking is a substance addiction that is very hard to get off the hook once you take a small bite, peer pressure may be the reason which forces you to start the first step. For example, friends who smoke may laugh at those who don’t smoke, thus it causes people to have a try smoking as they don’t want to be isolated. Consequently, people getting indulged in smoking and have trouble stopping it. To overcome the issue, the government should take an important role. As the government have the power to control and supervise the market, it can create some law banning the sale of cigarette in the country or raising the price of cigarette. Moreover, the government can advertise more about the dangers of smoking and teach the citizens,especially the teenagers that smoking is harmful, it’s not a good deal to influence others and smoke. In this way, the right behaviour and healthy lifestyle can be taught to people which may reduce the number of smokers. In conclusion, smoking is an addiction and giving up smoking is really a tough job. So a useful way to reduce smoking is to stop it from the beginning. By reducing the channel of getting cigarettes and imposing more slogans about the negative impact of smoking, I believe more people will say no or give up smoking.