In many cities, there are areas of land that are used as parks. With increasing population levels, these areas would be better used to provide more housing. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the land allocated for parks in many cities should be used to build additional homes because of the growing population. However, I strongly believe that parks should be preserved for as long as possible in order to improve the quality of life in cities. The preservation of parks has a positive impact on human well-being. The most convincing explanation for retaining parks is that they provide an inspirational and pleasant atmosphere in which individuals exercise and enhance their physical as well as mental health in today’s sedentary lifestyle. Walking or riding in natural environments, for example, can combat stress, boost immunity, and improve fitness, which would surely lower the risk of many diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure. Furthermore, parks provide a green environment with plants and trees that play an important part in keeping the air fresh and clean while also mitigating the detrimental effects of air pollution. In addition to this, parks offer families an excellent opportunity to spend quality time together, which strengthens family relations among them and reflects the quality of life in the community. For instance, many people often visit the parks with their families and friends to participate in various recreational activities or to celebrate local events. This would also give them a chance to meet and engage with other residents in their community, as well as learn more about each other. In conclusion, I absolutely believe that parks should be retained since they benefit our society by enhancing our physical and psychological health as well as allowing individuals to socialise with others in their neighbourhood.