Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambition. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Education is the wealth of a person as well as a community without which people can survive in this modern world. It guides a fellow and helps to improve both his personality and career. Considering the benefit of education, there is no doubt that it provides numerous advantages to human beings both personally and collectively. Regarding the goal of education, people may have different perspectives such as it should be benefitted to the society or to the individual to achieve his professional goals. In my opinion, we cannot ignore either side whereas the need of society should be placed at the top and personal interest could even be sacrificed for the same and the societal interest of education is essential for a developing nation. On one side, people argue that the educational system should be reformed to achieve community goals rather than the individual. According to them, education, the sector, in which most of the governments spend a considerable portion of their budget, should be community-oriented but not personal. Hence, moral values and social rights should be included in the curriculum to enhance the student's social responsibility. On the other side, there are certain views that support the personal interest in education. They support the argument that education should be focused to succeed in the career goal of the person. Accordingly, one can attain a job with high status and well paid. For instance, if one works hard and completes his study with top achievement, he may get a good placement with high remuneration. This will help him and his family to lead a happy life with all facilities such as luxury homes and branded cars. In my opinion, education can be a way to a successful career but it shouldn't be the ultimate goal. Having said that, an individual, when gets educated should be a responsible man to serve his society well while earning for himself. Hence, the individual, as well as the societal target of education are to be considered equally and neither can be ignored.