Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people opine that competition should be instilled in children, while others believe that having the skill to cooperate is more important for being a better adult. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the sense of competition in children cite various benefits that this can bring to the child. These range from understanding their true potential to building self-confidence. For example, healthy competition can encourage them to perform better than others and give them a sense of accomplishment. However, too much competition can make them feel overburdened, which could be counterproductive. For example, when competing children try to win at any cost without any zeal of acquiring knowledge, and when they are unable to cope with others, they can feel depressed. On the other hand, some people opine that cooperation is more powerful than the competition for an individual to become successful. In other words, cooperation allows children to understand each other better, build good relationships and respect others’ opinions. For example, by cooperating, they can understand the importance of exchanging ideas and tolerating each other. Moreover, it is the most sought skill in today’s world. For instance, companies are always in search of people with excellent team skills as they can bring about better productivity. Thus, cooperation is a must-have attribute at every step of our life. Overall, it seems advisable that both competition and cooperation are highly vital for children ’s development. However, it would appear that competition is required at some point in our lives, cooperation is necessary for overall development.