Some people think living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn the language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that spending some time in a region is required to gain the understanding of the language and traditions. I completely disagree with the above statement as this is not the only way to become proficient in any non-native language as described below. To begin with, it is not efficient to live in another nation for some people, due to financial costs. Living abroad is many people's dream, but the expense is considerably higher than living in your own country. For example, many students get study visas with permission to live abroad, but this would cost roughly 10000 dollars for 1 year and it is not necessary that within this cycle of time a person can acquire the desired skills in language. Secondly, the lifestyle. It can be difficult for a person to adapt the culture of a new state in terms of food, weather, religion. People will not get the appropriate environment to celebrate their own festivals and rituals. For instance, it is hard to get vegetarian food in non-veg countries. These situations may lead to homesickness and give up on learning new things. Lastly, the content accessibility on the internet. There are many tutorials available on the websites to learn foreign languages from the beginner to advanced level. In this pandemic situation, online classes are really picking up and most of the education providers in the world offer e-learning which is affordable and convenient for everyone. To conclude, staying for a while in the country to gain the knowledge of language and customs is not economical for everyone and I believe this can be easily achieved with the help of the internet.