Being celebrities such as famous sports person or celebrities bring problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Nowadays the influence of celebrities, like sports stars, are increasing. I do agree that being a celebrity would bring both advantages and disadvantages to people, especially to the youths. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the issue, and elaborate why I think that it brings more downsides to the public. Focusing on the benefits that celebrities would bring to society, one of these benefits is their encouraging stories of facing difficulties. When these people face hardships in their life, they never give up, keep fighting for their goals and finally succeed. For instance, one of the touching stories is about a singer named “Nightbird” who is now battling cancer. She wrote a song called “it is OK” to share how she fights against her adversity and keeps her spirit up. Her story and her song encourage a lot of people who are also experiencing suffering. However, being a celebrity also bring negative impacts to society. Firstly, these celebrities, especially excellent sports players, are role models for the youngsters. Because of the success and excellence in their professional fields, they earn big money in their career and in commercial activities. It would give a wrong message to the kids that we do not need to study hard and can be successful. The kids would have an excuse for being lazy in their studies. Furthermore, most of these famous persons’ private life is under surveillance. Their improper behaviours will be easily spread out and influence the teenagers, who are still at a tender age and susceptible to their role models. Thus, the mindset of these adolescents will be distorted and, therefore, it would affect their development. In conclusion, although the success story of celebrities could uplift and inspire those who are in hardships, the improper messages and behaviours of these famous people may also affect the upbringings of our next generations. I believe that being a celebrity brings more problems since it impacts our children in the long run.