Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The growing usage of gas-powered vehicles is one of the biggest causes of rising traffic jams and air pollution in our society. Increasing the price of fossil fuel is a solution which people have considered to be viable, but it also has its downsides. Firstly, petrol plays a vital role in modern transportation. It is used to power most vehicles such as cars, buses, planes, and much more. But, vehicles using petrol will produce toxic fumes, which could lead to some concerns, for example, global warming and respiratory diseases. With most of the world’s transportation utilizing fossil fuels, resolving these issues is challenging. However, one of the fixes to this problem is increasing the price of fossil fuels. If correctly implemented, it could greatly decrease the use of gas vehicles, because people will think that gas prices are way too high and eventually stop using private transportation or switch to a more environmentally safer alternative. It can lead to quiet roads and a significant drop in pollution. But, one of the downsides is that individuals with little free time could be late for instance, their work. That is why a different solution is needed to resolve this issue. I think making electric vehicles cheaper to run and having lower tax rates is a great way to decrease air pollution. To decrease traffic, ensure a policy that only individuals with jobs that require private transportation are able to receive a driver's license. In conclusion, while gasoline is undoubtedly an important factor for transportation, especially where an alternative is not possible, it can be reduced. A single solution can not resolve these problems, but a couple of approaches that tackle each issue are more likely to lead to clear roads and clean air.