Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Using social media as a means of connecting with others and the world is more and more prevalent. Since most of social media websites require users’ personal information for registration and using their services, people are facing a certain degree of risks. Although it would bring drawback to doing so, I believe that using social media have more benefits. To begin with the disadvantage, the risk of giving personal information to social media websites is identity theft. Most of these social media have a membership scheme and require people to provide personal information, such as name, address, identity numbers and even bank account information, in order to join their membership scheme. However, if the website does not have a sophisticated security system, hackers may easily steal our information for illegal activities, such as borrowing money from a bank on our behalf. We may then face financial loss and legal troubles. Other than the drawback mentioned above, we have some advantages from surfing on social media. Firstly, we can maintain contact with our friends and family members, even we are living in different parts of the world. The geographical boundaries are eliminated. Furthermore, we can make new friends with the same interests and extend our social circles through the internet. It enhances our social life and emotional well-being. Lastly, information, entertainment and news can be obtained instantly and easily from social media. We can keep updating on current issues. Therefore, social media makes our life more convenient and allows us to connect with others without boundaries. In conclusion, even though we face the risks of identity theft, our lives are enriched and social connections would be more well-developed. I argue that the benefits of using social media outweigh its drawback.