Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a common view in the education sector that school syllabus should include life skills such as tax planning and estate management, and one of the ideas is to include parenting skills. As the children will grow and become a parent one day, the ability to be a good parent will determine how the new generation will evolve. I personally agree that parenting skills should be included in schools so that every young person can develop these skills further as they mature. Firstly, one of the skills that a person needs to be a good parent is listening skills. This is important because only by listening, parents will be able to understand their child's interests. For example, a lot of parents nowadays are busy with their careers and they always assume that the situation today is similar to what they had encountered when they were young, and this limits the children's prospects in exploring their interests. Thus, by having the skills to properly listen, only then parents will be able to foster growth and creativity in their children. Secondly, it is important for parents to be able to provide a good environment for their families. This is another skill that is required to ensure that children feel supported, not only from the financial perspective but also on the overall home condition. For instance, a lot of children in a marginalised neighbourhood have poor home conditions, and this impacted their education, self-esteem, and social behaviour. Therefore, it is clear that the skill to provide a steady environment to home is crucial for prospective parents. To summarise, good parenting skills are important as one of the life skills, and schools can take the initiative to impart the knowledge early to the young people to prepare them for their future. Based on the reasons above, I wholeheartedly agree that parenting skills must be included and if this idea is implemented, we will be able to achieve a better future for humanity.