Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations.

It is true that, although some university students are able to live with their family while studying in their home town, others are forced to live away from their home in other to pursue their studies. There are pros and cons of both situations. If university students have the opportunity to live with their families, it definitely has benefits and drawbacks. Firstly, one major advantage is that they are able to economize since the money paid for accommodation could be saved and it can allow students to put aside for their practical purposes. Secondly, family lives bring a lot of sentimental values, such as family members being supportive and caring to their loved ones. Students will have a crutch to count on and release their negative emotions if they have desperate troubles or miss out on a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. However, the home situation can be caused plenty of disadvantages. Family routines are often disruptive for their students who have to concentrate on their studies and sometimes they don't have their own privacy. For instance, especially in Asia families, some parents always treat their children as a kid and maybe control all of their activities throughout the entire day, which makes students uncomfortable because of the loss of their liberty. On the other hand, when children live away from, they also face challenges. One disadvantage is having to find accommodation because most universities are located in metropolitan central areas, that is why most hostels are quite expensive in spite of basic facilities. In addition, there are beneficial aspects to living independently in urban areas. Students are able to escape the distractions of family life, learning how to adapt to new environments. it also helps them to study many skills such as time management, nurturing, cooking and something else like that. In conclusion, there are clearly different things between living independently and staying with families.