More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news . They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Since the internet has become known to the general public, people usually opt for the internet which is a huge pool of data and enables readers to be aware of the daily breaking news. Although there are certain advantages, this condition will create some drawbacks. The following essay will discuss both sides of this issue with relevant examples. On the one hand, I find this phenomenon as a positive development of society. Because those in favour of using the internet for getting news can be informed the latest news whenever and wherever they want. Instead of wasting time reading long-lasting newspaper articles and stucking behind the TV for hours, it is enough for readers to click the button and receive world news in a quick and convenient way. So modern technologies make life easier and save our valuable time. On the other hand, we come in contact with some negative aspects of accessing online news because of several reasons. Information in this data pool can be useless and even inappropriate for certain readers. For example, it is not obvious that all news is persuasive on YouTube. At times the online data come from various unconfirmed sources which are fake. As a result, readers can be easily exposed to false news. Therefore, the government should adopt some policies aimed at stopping the action of fake websites. Moreover, internet users have to be educated about unreliable resources. In conclusion, although the drawbacks of getting online news are real, I believe that gaining breaking news via the internet has enough positive benefits on development and advantages overcome its disadvantages.