In many countries, children today have more freedom than they used to. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many parents are offering more choices with greater trust to their children than in the past.While some people claim it may lead to undesirable effects, I tend to believe adults can benefit from this trend. One benefit of allowing young children to keep initiative is that a degree of autonomy could be developed. Too much control over the lives of teenagers imposes too much stress on making decisions independently.If given more chances to manage the personal business in daily routine, they could develop a variety of skills including managing everyday schedule, the daily budget,and also learn from their mistakes.The heir could, thus, have a strong capability of self-organize and preparing themselves for further education and future life. Giving certain independence also means that young people can take greater freedom to balance their studies and leisure. Parents and schools focus mostly on academic records today, which means adolescents are evaluated by their performance in examinations only. They may, hence, lose the motivation to study hard rather than be keen to acquire knowledge. Having access to develop expertise in the subject they are good at, youth could establish confidence and maintain the learning enthusiasm accordingly. It is true that young adults are not always able to make good decisions when lacking parental guidance.Youngsters sometimes have a tendency to prioritize short-term needs and want over long-term goals. But considering the fact that the necessity of fulfilling self-independent, parents should be granted proper privileges in children's life. To conclude,permitting teenagers to make their own decision about what should do gives them an edge in thinking independently and well-rounded development. Parents need to assess the balance between intervention and initiative.