Some people think that hosting an international sport event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is true that global sporting competitions have always been attracting the attention of citizens around the globe. According to one school of thought, organizing sport events brings numerous benefits to the host country, while others believe that such events do more harm than good. From my point of view, I am more convinced that they are advantageous for the host nation. On the one hand, there exist reasonable reasons for the local authorities of not holding international sport events. To begin, it is the increasing tendency of social instability that make sport events become less favorable. The main cause of this issue is the possibility of property crime on sport fans. Thieves can join the crowd to steal valuable items from the watchers like wallets, watches or accessories. Besides, the international sport events require complicated preparation steps to organize. The indigenous authority must pay a tremendous amount of public budget for upgrading the infrastructure and constructing facilities. As a result, the host nation has to deal with greater public debt as well as burdening the public budget. On the other hand, despite the detrimental drawbacks mentioned above, the beneficial of holding sporting events is undeniable. First of all, the events can promote the nation ’s economy. The large influx of tourists to a country can boost the demand for goods and services such as accomodations accommodation and entertainment. The local resident can take the opportunity to advertise national specialties and cultural identities widely to the customers. More importantly, the host nation can gain global exposure by its reputation and nation ’s status. It is the springboard for growth of the whole nation in the long run. Hence, I believe that the disadvantages are overshadowed by the advantages, which is discussed before. In conclusion, while holding global sports competitions can be at the expense of several problems, including social fluctuation and national debts, I would argue that the merits are more meaningful to the host country than the demerits.