More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Family planning is crucial to every married couple. “No kids” family has become more and more prevalent in society recently. Some people think that the choice of these “child-free” couples is selfish, while others argue that the motives of their decision are noble. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I support the latter view. On the one hand, those who argue that “no kids” couples are selfish might point to the personal consideration of their decision. Firstly, it requires a family a huge amount of money to raise a child. Take Hong Kong as an example, an estimation of 4 million is required for upbringing a child until he is graduated from a university. Thus, it is a huge financial burden for a family. Moreover, the couple needs to spend time and effort nurturing their child. In other words, they will give up their personal time, even their career development, for the well-being of their son or daughter. In order to save money and time, couples may decide to have no children. With this line of thinking, this is perhaps why certain people think a “child-free” family is selfish. On the other hand, those who do not want to have a baby may have other reasons for their choice. One of the most important factors is that overpopulation may cause environmental pollution, deforestation and climate changes. All these situations will affect the well-being of mankind, and lead to the extinction of other animal species as the result of the disappearance of their habitat. For example, in some Asian countries, the problem of overcrowding causes a high rate of crime and poverty. Therefore, some couples feel responsible for the situation and not have their children. In conclusion, both views have their own reasons to be “no kids” couples, however, I believe that mitigating the overpopulation is strong support for them to be “child-free”.